Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Rededication of Tazewell County Lincoln Circuit Marker

February 21 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am

Lincoln 8th Circuit Marker

President’s Day Rededication of
Tazewell County Lincoln Circuit Marker

2022 marks the 100th Anniversary of the placement by the Lincoln Circuit Marking Association (under the auspices of the Daughters of the American Revolution of Illinois and led by Lottie Jones of Danville) of Courthouse Markers and County Line Markers throughout Central Illinois. These markers highlight the location of the Illinois Eighth Judicial Circuit between 1847 and 1859, when this route was transverse by a young lawyer named Abraham Lincoln.

Lincoln 8th Circuit Tazewell County Courthouse MarkerThe 17 Courthouse Markers were placed at the Courthouses of the Eighth Judicial Circuit 1847 – 1859. Constructed of New Hampshire Greens Landing granite 5 feet 6 inches by 2 feet 4 inches and 12 inches thick, they were designed by Henry Bacon, the architect of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC, at an original total cost $4,950.  All 17 Courthouse Markers still survive today.

Lincoln 8th Circuit Tazewell County Line MarkerThe 19 County Line Markers act as guidepost to the route traveled by Abraham Lincoln between 1847 – 1859 across the vast Eighth Judicial Circuit. Uniquely made of pressed concrete with a bronze plaque, they were designed by Edgar Martin of the Illinois State Department of Public Works and Buildings at an original total cost of $2,887. Only 14 County-line Markers still remain today.

In Tazewell County, we are blessed to have a marker at the north entrance of the Tazewell County Courthouse and two county line markers: Tazewell/Woodford on Washington Blacktop outside Washington and Tazewell/Logan on Delavan Road outside Delavan.

For this rededication of the Tazewell County Abraham Lincoln Markers, a wreath will be placed at the Courthouse Marker by the speakers gathered.  In advance of the event, the Mayors of Washington and Delavan will place a wreath at their respective County Line Markers.

The rededication program will take place inside the Tazewell County Courthouse – so weather should not be an issue.  This event is FREE and open to the public.  Children are strongly encouraged to attend.

Keynote Speaker

Lincoln Scholar Guy Fraker
Author: Looking For Lincoln In Illinois: A Guide to Lincoln’s Eighth Judicial Circuit.

Rededication Speakers

10th Judicial Circuit Chief Judge Katherine Gorman
Tazewell County Presiding Judge Paul Gilfillan
Tazewell County State’s Attorney Stewart Umholtz
Tazewell County Circuit Clerk Lincoln Hobson
Tazewell County Clerk John Ackerman
Mayor of Washington Gary Manier and Mayor of Delavan Elizabeth Skinner


February 21
10:00 am - 11:00 am


Tazewell County Courthouse
342 Court Street
Pekin, IL 61554 United States


309 477-3044